Eragon

Katie McCarville
4 min readSep 17, 2022

Christopher Paolini started writing Eragon when he was just 15 years old. By the age of 19, Eragon had made him into a New York Time’s best selling author and by 2003 the book was placed on the New York Times Children’s Best Selling Books for 121 straight weeks. It was the third best-selling children’s hard-cover book of the year, and in 2006 won the prestigious, Young Readers Choice Award. Paolini went on to finish the series started in Eragon, by releasing three other books that would later become The Inheritance Cycle.

Eragon Cover Art done by John Jude Palancar

The Inheritance Cycle completely consumed my life as a child and I only just got the chance to re-read the series as an adult. Book reviews aren’t usually the type of content that I do, but I’ve decided to give a try with one of my favorite series. I originally intended to produce just one review that encompassed the entire series. However, it just got too long to be digestible for anyone but the most die-hard Eragon fans. So I decided to do a review for each book separately, so perhaps even the most casual viewer might enjoy the content also.

Ever since I was a child I have been completely, unnaturally, and utterly obsessed with the Eragon series. I’m really excited to try something new and get started with writing more book reviews. All that being said, here is my first ever book review on Eragon — The Inheritance Cycle.

--

--

Katie McCarville

Feminist, Artist, Writer, ADHD haver, Playboy, Philanthropist🤷 I’m really just at the mercy of my own perspective. https://linktr.ee/katie_mccarv