Katie McCarville
4 min readSep 17, 2022

Christopher Paolini started writing Eragon when he was just 15 years old. By the age of 19, Eragon had made him into a New York Time’s best selling author and by 2003 the book was placed on the New York Times Children’s Best Selling Books for 121 straight weeks. It was the third best-selling children’s hard-cover book of the year, and in 2006 won the prestigious, Young Readers Choice Award. Paolini went on to finish the series started in Eragon, by releasing three other books that would later become The Inheritance Cycle.

Eragon Cover Art done by John Jude Palancar

The Inheritance Cycle completely consumed my life as a child and I only just got the chance to re-read the series as an adult. Book reviews aren’t usually the type of content that I do, but I’ve decided to give a try with one of my favorite series. I originally intended to produce just one review that encompassed the entire series. However, it just got too long to be digestible for anyone but the most die-hard Eragon fans. So I decided to do a review for each book separately, so perhaps even the most casual viewer might enjoy the content also.

Ever since I was a child I have been completely, unnaturally, and utterly obsessed with the Eragon series. I’m really excited to try something new and get started with writing more book reviews. All that being said, here is my first ever book review on Eragon — The Inheritance Cycle.

Map of Alagaesia done by John Jude Palancar

Eragon takes place in the fictional world of Alageasia, where our hero has humble beginnings as a poor farmer boy. One day while hunting in the wilderness in search of food for his family, Eragon comes across a rare stone (which is later revealed to be a dragon egg). He takes it home with him and to his surprise the egg hatches and out comes Saphira. The two are instantly connected as Dragon and Rider magically linking their hearts and minds together forever.

When the evil king Galbatorix hears rumors of the dragon egg. He sends his mysterious henchmen — the Ra-zac, to Carvahall to investigate. There, they brutely murder one of Eragon’s only remaining family members, his Uncle Garrow, for no reason other than to be cruel.

With the help of Brom, -the towns story-teller, Eragon leaves Carvahall and sets out…



Katie McCarville

Feminist, Artist, Writer, ADHD haver, Playboy, Philanthropist🤷 I’m really just at the mercy of my own perspective.